Chandra relying on 13 Independent MLAs and smaller parties | India News

Must read


NEW DELHI: Claiming his roots were in Fatehpur in Rajasthan’s Sikar, Subhash Chandra said, “I went to the Rajya Sabha from Haryana with Congress’s support. This time, I requested the BJP leadership to nominate me from my native state Rajasthan. I still have a house, family and temple at Fatehpur. I visit the place six times in a year. ”
The Essel Group chairman’s public profile across media mentions Haryana’s Hisar as his birthplace.
BJP’s candidate for one of the four Rajasthan seats at stake in the biennial election is Ghanshyam Tiwari. The latter needs 41 votes to go through, which should be a formality given BJP’s 71strong bench in 200-member assembly. Assuming BJP’s remaining 30 votes go to Chandra, he would need support of 11 non-BJP MLAs to secure a second term.
Sources said Chandra and BJP were relying on 13 Independent MLAs and smaller parties like RLP (three seats), BTP (two seats) and CPM (two seats) to trump Congress’s 108 MLAs, plus one from ally RLD.
“While BJP has extended support to my candidature, I would like to tell all MLAs that I am one among them, and they should al- so back me. I would like to assure you that as an RS member, I will raise the issues concerning Rajasthan,” Chandra said. “I summoned the courage to contest only after some Independents, too, joined BJP in supporting me. ”
BJP’s Rajasthan unit held a series of meetings on Tuesday under state in charge Arun Singh’s watch. “Most of the 13 In- dependent MLAs are in touch with the party to support an Independent candidate,” a party member said. Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot said all three Congress candidates — Randeep Singh Surjewala, Mukul Wasnik, and Pramod Tiwari — would win despite murmurs of disquiet within over “outsiders” being nominated. He accused BJP of trying to queer the pitch for Congress, employing a strategy that it tried out a decade and a half ago but couldn’t execute. “In the morning, buzz was that BJP will file a second candidate, which they changed to an Independent for fear of defeat,” he said.
Five candidates filed their papers for four Rajya Sabha seats on the last day of nominations.


More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest article