30.1 C
New York

Former cricket player Ambati Rayudu joins the YSR Congress


Ambati Rayudu, a former Indian cricketer, has joined the Yuvajana Sramika Rythu (YSR) Congress. On Thursday, YRS Congress president and Andhra Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy admitted him into the party.

Deputy Chief Minister Narayanaswamy and MP Midhun Reddy were also in attendance.

Rayudu made his political debut in June of this year, and in the same month, he met with Jagan Mohan Reddy to discuss the construction of world-class sports facilities and education for the disadvantaged.

“Had a great meeting with honourable CM YS Jagan Mohan Reddy Garu along with respected Rupa Mam and CSK management to discuss the development of world-class sports infrastructure and education for the underprivileged. Govt is developing a robust program for the youth of our state,” Rayudu wrote on X.

The former cricket player complimented the Andhra chief minister on social media earlier in April.

“Great speech ..our chief minister@ysjagan garu.. everyone in the state has complete belief and trust in you sir..” Rayudu made a post on X.

Rayudu announced his retirement from the Indian Premier League (IPL) after his club, Chennai Super Kings, won the competition in May. He also stated his intention to withdraw from all forms of Indian cricket.

“It was an emotional night that culminated in a memorable IPL victory.” “On that high note, I would like to announce my retirement from all forms of Indian cricket,” Rayudu said in a post on X.

He appeared in 55 One-Day Internationals for India, scoring 1694 runs at an average of 47.05. His greatest innings were 124 runs unbroken. In one-day international cricket, he scored three centuries and ten fifties for India. He also played six T20 internationals for India, scoring 42 runs.

Rayadu has also played domestic cricket for Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, Baroda, and Vidarbha.

He scored 1,932 runs at an average of 30.18 in 90 matches with CSK, which he joined in 2018. For CSK, he had a century and eight fifties, with the top score of 100*.

He has scored 4,348 runs in 204 IPL matches at an average of 28.23 and a strike rate of 127.24. With a top score of 100*, he achieved one century and  22 fifties. He is the league’s 12th-highest scorer.

He won the IPL six times, once with MI (2013, 2015, and 2017) and once with CSK (2018, 2021, and 2023). He is regarded as one of the most successful players in league history, simply because of his enormous success as a batter and trophy haul.

You might also be interested in – These Indian cricketers have earned the most through T20i match fees

Source link

Related articles

Recent articles