28.1 C
New York

70 years of the European Parliament celebrated at the Royal Palace


To mark the 70th anniversary of the European Parliament and in the run-up to the Belgian Presidency of the Council of the European Union to be held in the first half of 2024, European Parliament President Roberta Metsola will be received by Their Majesties the King and Queen at the Château de Laeken.

Parliament political groups’ leaders, Bureau members and committees’ chairs will also be among the guests. The ceremony will take place on Wednesday from 19:00.


10 September 2022 marked the 70th anniversary of the first meeting of the Common Assembly of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC). Convened in 1952, it comprised 78 appointed parliamentarians from the national parliaments of each member state.

In 1958, following the creation of the European Economic Community and the European Atomic Energy Community, the Common Assembly of the ECSC was enlarged and renamed the ”European Parliamentary Assembly”. In 1962, it adopted the name “European Parliament”.

Source link

Related articles

Recent articles